Asian Philately History Behind a Stamp New Stamps News SARC Philately

India Post Released Stamp on Dr Madhav Shrihari Aney

India Post  today released a commemorative stamp on Dr Madhav Shrihari Aney.Aney  (29 August, 1880- 26 January, 1968)was a politician. He was one of the founder of the Congress Nationalist Party. He was one of the eminent disciples of Lokmanya Tilak.

In 1937, he was elected to the Central Legislative Assembly. During 1941-1943, he was a member of Governor General’s Executive Council. He resigned in 1943, when the British Indian government  refused to release Gandhiji, while he was on fast. He was the High Commissioner to Ceylon from 1943 to July, 1947. He joined the Constituent Assembly in 1947.

After Indian independence, Dr M S Aney was Governor of Bihar   from 12 January 1948 to 14 June 1952. He was also a member of the 3rd Lok Sabha from 1962 to 1967, representing Nagpur constituency. He died on 26 January, 1968 evening, the very day he was honored with Padma Vibhushan  . In 1973, he was posthumously honored with the Sahitya Akademi Award for his Shritilakayashornava ,a biography of Bal Gangadhar Tilak in Sanskrit.

Related Posts with Thumbnails