Commemorative Stamps History Behind a Stamp New Stamps Themes World

Stamps to Feature on 50 Post Boxes in UK to Mark 50th Anniversary of Royal Mail Special Stamp Programme

royal mailRoyal Mail’s modern Special Stamp programme which celebrates the heritage and culture of the UK, marks its 50thanniversary in 2015.As part of celebrations, Royal Mail is installing 50 plaques with images of some of the most popular stamps on 50 post boxes in locations across the country.Each of the 50 postboxes is located in one of the UK’s cities, towns or villages  that has a special connection with the featured stamp.In the first 50 years of the Special Stamp programme a total of 2,663 stamps have been published and every new stamp design is approved by Her Majesty, The Queen before it is issued.

Royal Mail stamps have mirrored the changes in society and culture at large..Royal Mail is installing 50 special stamp plaques on postboxes across the UK to mark the 50th anniversary of its much-loved modern Special Stamp programme.Each of the 50 postbox plaques will feature one of the most popular stamps that has a special connection with the UK city, town or village in which it is located.

They will feature a variety of stamps including Winston Churchill, Bagpuss, Dylan Thomas, Robert Burns, the Giant’s Causeway, York Minster and Sherlock Holmes. They will feature in various towns across the UK ranging from London to Llandudno, Belfast to Blackpool, Leeds to Leicester and Edinburgh to Exeter. It is hoped that they will attract interest and attention from locals and tourists alike.

Andrew Hammond, Director Stamps & Collectibles, Royal Mail said: “The UK’s towns and cities have influenced stamp designs over the past 50 years. At the same time, our iconic red postboxes have formed memorable landmarks across the country since 1852. We are delighted to bring the two together, creating new points of interest around the UK in celebration of our stamps heritage.”The first 50 years of Royal Mail’s Special Stamp programme has featured a total of 2,663 stamps and every new stamp design is approved by Her Majesty, The Queen before it is issued. The Special Stamp programme has mirrored the changes in society and culture at large.

Details of the 50 stamps and the locations of the Post Boxes.

Stamp Location
Winston Churchill Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Millennium Centre Cardiff
Dylan Thomas Swansea
Pontcysyllte Aqueduct Wrexham
Llandudno Pier Llandudno
Tenby Lifeboat Tenby
CS Lewis Narnia Belfast
Peace Bridge Derry/Londonderry
The Giant’s Causeway Antrim
Armagh Observatory Armagh
Edinburgh Castle Edinburgh
Glasgow Tram Glasgow
Comics, Beano Dundee
Andy Murray winning Wimbledon Dunblane
Sir Walter Scott Abbotsford – Scottish Borders
Golf St Andrews
Robert Burns Alloway, Ayr
Blackpool Tower Blackpool
Manchester Town Hall Manchester
Liverpool Cathedral Liverpool
Richard Arkwright inventor Preston
Wallace and Gromit Bristol
Eddystone Lighthouse Plymouth
Met Office Exeter
Abbotsbury Swannery Abbotsbury, Dorset
Chamberlain Square Birmingham
Biddulph Grange Stoke
Severn Valley Railway Worcester
William Shakespeare Stratford upon Avon
Charles Darwin Shrewsbury
Leicester University Leicester
The Oak Stamp Nottinghamshire
Ely Cathedral Ely
E-type jaguar Coventry
Max Perutz Cambridge
York Minster York
High Level Bridge Newcastle
Nicola Adams Olympics Leeds
Jessica Ennis Olympics Sheffield
The Deep Hull
Derwentwater Lake District
Wembley Wembley
Bagpuss Canterbury
World Wildlife Fund Woking
Magna Carta Runnymede
Timekeeper Greenwich
Queen’s Jubilee stamp London
50th anniversary of the BBC Portland Place London
Sherlock Holmes Baker St, London
Mary Seacole Brixton, London

Related Posts with Thumbnails