BHU Hold Competition to Design Commemorative Coins and Stamps

bhu stamp designsBanaras Hindu University recently held a competition to design commemorative coins and stamps to be released by the Union government. According to the OSD of the Centennial Celebrations Cell of BHU, Dr. Vishwanath Pandey, Ashish Kumar Gupta and Subhashita of the department of Applied Arts have been adjudged first and second winner respectively in the competition to design commemorative coins and stamps, while Arnab Biswas of the department of Chemistry has been selected for third place. They will receive cash prize of Rs. 10000, Rs. 7000 and Rs. 5000 respectively.

According to Pandey, on the occasion of the centennial celebrations of BHU the Finance and Telecommunications ministries of the Government of India have decided to release commemorative stamp and coin of Rs. 100 as also coin of Rs. 10 for commercial transactions. The BHU vice-Chancellor Prof. Girish Chandra Tripathi had directed to host a competition for the design of the coins/stamp amongst the students.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in Asian Philately, Education, History Behind A Stamp, News, SARC Philately, Themes, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *