New Stamps from New Zealand

Cricket Ball Shaped Stamps

newzealand cricket stamps

New Zealand and Australia previously hosted the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1992. 23 years on, the 2015 tournament will attract a new generation of cricket lovers. The tournament will see 49 matches played over 44 days during the summer months of February and March, with the final held on 29 March at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground. To commemorate this thrilling sporting event, New Zealand Post is issuing official ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 memorabilia, consisting of a unique dome-shaped commemorative coin, a sheet of stamps and a set of first day covers that represent the fourteen contesting teams.newzealand cricket fdc

This colourful set of stamps consists of fourteen cricket ball-shaped self-adhesive stamps – one for each team competing in the ICC Cricket World Cup: New Zealand, Sri Lanka, England, Australia, Scotland, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, South Africa, Zimbabwe, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Ireland and the United Arab Emirates. Each stamp features team colours and imagery, as well as the official ICC Cricket World Cup logo.

Date of Issue-4 February 2015,Designed by- New Zealand Post, Wellington, New Zealand,Printer and Process-Southern Colour Print Ltd by Offset lithography,Colors- 4,Size-35mm round,Paper- Tullis Russell 104gsm red phosphor psa stamp paper

Year of the Sheep

newzealand year of the sheep stampsThe 2015 Year of the Sheep stamps represent the multicultural nature of New Zealand. This is shown on these stamps through Chinese calligraphy, paper-cutting and line art illustration against backgrounds that represent New Zealand as ‘the land of the long white cloud’.

Date of Issue-14 January 2015,Designed by- Asiaworks, Auckland, New Zealand,Printer and Process-Southern Colour Print Ltd by Offset lithography,Colors- 4,Size-30mm x 40mm (vertical),Paper- Tullis Russell 104gsm red phosphor gummed ,Denominations-80c, $1.40, $2.00 and $2.50,Perforation-14

The Treaty of Waitangi

newzealand treaty of waitangi stampThe Treaty of Waitangi is a document in Maori and English that intended to found a nation state and build a government in New Zealand. It was signed at Waitangi in the Bay of Islands on 6 February 1840 by Captain William Hobson, several English residents and around 45 Maori chiefs. By the time the Treaty had been taken around the country for signing, approximately 540 chiefs from around 39 areas of the country had signed. The Treaty consists of nine documents in all – seven on paper and two on parchment.Different understandings of the Treaty have long been a subject of debate. However, today as Maori and the Crown are finalising the settlements of all major claims, the treaty is being seen in a different light, and is beginning to take on a more mediatory role rather than being a point of grievance.

This over-sized commemorative stamp is a blend of the old and the new, and combines a coin design by James Berry with contemporary Maori design. The central aspect of the stamp design depicts the figures of Tamati Waka Nene and William Hobson, and is based on the Waitangi Crown – a coin minted in 1935. Though the coin was not technically a commemorative coin, it functioned like one and was sold for more than their face value. This coin was struck after the New Zealand Numismatic Society approached the government suggesting a new coin marking the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi.
On the stamp, Ngapuhi chief Tamati Waka Nene is seen shaking hands with William Hobson, the first governor of New Zealand. They are set against a backdrop of sculptural designs executed by Rangi Kipa, based on his development of two Northland designs of Unahi (fish scale) and Kiri Kiore (Pacific rat). The fish scale design references the value of the abundant sea life that formed a staple part of the diet sustaining the many Maori coastal communities and the Kiri kiore design is a visual metaphor that relates the beauty of the Kiore pelt to that of a finely woven cloak which had great value in Maori society.

Date of Issue-4 Fabruary 2015,Designed by- Rangi Kipa, Te Atiawa, Taranaki Tuturu and Roy McDougall,Printer and Process-Southern Colour Print Ltd by Offset lithography,Colors- 4,Size-14.40mm x 40mm (vertical),Paper- Olbong watermark 104gsm rgummed stamp paper ,Denomination-$2.n50,Perforation-14

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in History Behind A Stamp, New Stamps, News, Stamps, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *