No Place for Telangana in Stamps

In what is being termed as a slight by philatelists towards Telangana, only on one occasion has India Post issued stamps to commemorate its personalities since 2000. This, even as more than a dozen were devoted to Seemandhra icons during this period of time.\"telangana

India Post found Telangana\’s political icon and first elected chief minister of the erstwhile Hyderabad State, Burgula Ramakrishna Rao, befitting enough to be honoured with a commemorative postage stamp on his birth centenary on March 13, 2000. In contrast, a set of five commemorative stamps on Andhra personalities and themes were issued by India Post in 2013 alone.The first to come out last year was a set of two commemorative postage stamps worth Rs 25 on Arasavalli and Srikurmam temples of Srikakulam, which was released by the then Union minister of state for communication and IT Killi Kruparani on Ugadi day. They were soon followed by Rs 5 stamps on Tollywood personality Allu Ramalingiah (May 3, 2013), poet Gurazada Venkata Apparao (September 21) and Satya Sai Baba (November 23). (Source-TOI)

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in Articles, Asian Philately, Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *