50th Anniversary of the First British Antarctic Territory Stamps

\"britishBy Suresh Rao

16 stamps were issued on 27th November 2013 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the first British Antarctic Territory Stamps.  images of the original stamps are reproduced .The first issue came in 1963, an engraved set with 15 values ranging from ½ d to one pound, featuring a portrait of Queen Elizabeth overlooking various scenes of human activity in Antarctica.The British Antarctic Territory (BAT) is a sector of Antarctica claimed by the United Kingdom as one of its 14 British Overseas Territories. It comprises the region south of 60°S latitude and between longitudes 20°W and 80°W, forming a wedge shape that extends to the South Pole. The Territory was formed on 3 March 1962,[1] although the UK\’s claim to this portion of the Antarctic dates back to Letters Patent of 1908 and 1917. The area now covered by the Territory includes three regions which, before 1962, were administered by the British as separate dependencies of the Falkland Islands: Graham Land, the South Orkney Islands, and the South Shetland Islands.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in Articles, Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *