Stamps Not Issued So Far

By Neeraj Kumar

\"doordarshan\"As stamps on Presidents of India are concerned, India Post is yet to issue a stamp on Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, the sixth President of India (1977-1982). But his sketch appears on the stamp on 100 years of Congress issued on Dec 28, 1985 as he was elected president of the Indian National congress thrice from 1960 to 1962.

Besides, there is one government institution still awaiting stamp is Doordarshan. It completed 50 years in 2009 but no stamp has been issued so far. A stamp was issued on its sister concern Akashwani (AIR) on the occaison of its silver jubilee on 8th June 1961.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in Asian Philately, Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stamps Not Issued So Far


    Great observation about non-issue of stamp
    on Doordarshan.
    As far as I know DD & P&T were always
    separate. Can’t be part of the dysfunctional
    relationship that presently exists between the
    Posts & Telephone departments.

  2. Neeraj says:

    Stamp on former president K R Narayanan is also yet to be released. India Post is not following the tradition to issue commemorative stamp to honour ex presidents after their death. Besides Krishan Kant is the only vice President of India to be on a stamp. Stamps on Radhakrishnan, Zakir Hussain, VV Giri, R Venkatraman, Shankar Dayal Sharma were issued as presidents and not as vice presidents.

  3. N.A. Mirza says:

    This is an excellent highlight of a keen collector

  4. Dinu says:

    Dear Mr. Neeraj,
    So you to have joined the band wagon to watch on Presidential issue; LOL
    I have written few articles about missing president’s stamp.
    It appears that though Mr. K B Reddy had the privielege of getting a stamp but not Mr. N S Reddy; perhaps this has something to do with the stance later has taken during Emergency. It is purely my observation while watching the serial “Pradhan mantri” in TV.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *