Indian Space Programme on Sao Tome Stamps

\"\"By Kamal Jain and Abishek Jalan

Sao Tome Príncipe issued a set of stamps on Indian Space Programme.São Tomé is located northeast of Trindade, southeast of Guadalupe and northwest of Santana. It is linked to these towns by various roadways. It is linked to Cape Verde by a weekly ferry.Features of the town include the Presidential Palace, the Cathedral, and a cinema. The city is also home to schools, middle schools, high schools, one polytechnic, two markets, three radio stations, the public television station TVSP, several clinics and hospitals.

Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam (born 15 October 1931) usually referred toas A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, is a renowned aerospace engineer who served as the 11th President of India from 2002 to 2007. During his term as President, he was popularly known as the People\’s President. He was awarded the Bharat Ratna, India\’s highest civilian honour in 1997. He has also been a professor (of aerospace engineering) and is the first Chancellor of the Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology Thiruvananthapuram (IIST). Before his term as President, he worked as an aerospace engineer with Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO). He is popularly known as the Missile Man of India for his work on the development of ballistic missile and space rocket technology.

Vikram Ambalal Sarabhai (12 August 1919 – 31 December 1971) was born in the city of Ahmedabad, in the state of Gujarat in western India. He received the Tripos in Natural Sciences from Cambridge in 1940. With the escalation of the Second World War, Sarabhai returned to India and joined the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore and began research in cosmic rays under the guidance of Nobel Laureate C. V. Raman.

Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi (2 October 1869 – 30 January 1948) was the preeminent leader of Indian nationalism in British ruled India. Employing non-violent civil disobedience, Gandhi led India to independence and inspired movements for non-violence, civil rights and freedom across the world.

Wing Commander Rakesh Sharma, AC, Hero of Soviet, (born January 13, 1949) is a former Indian Air Force test pilot, and Cosmonaut aboard Soyuz T-11 as part of an Intercosmos Research Team. Sharma was the first Indian to travel in space.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in Articles, Discussion, History Behind A Stamp, New Stamps, News, Themes, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *