INDIA:Stamp Released on R.Venkataraman

India Post today issued a commemorative postage stamp on former President of \"\"India R.Venkataraman.The President, Smt. Pratibha Devisingh Patil released  the Commemorative Postage at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

The Union Minister for Human Resource Development and Communications and Information Technology, Kapil Sibal was also present on the occasion.

\"\"Ramaswamy Venkataraman (4 December 1910 – 27 January 2009) was an Indian lawyer, Indian independence activist and politician who served as the eighth President of India. Venkataraman was born in Rajamadam village in Madras Presidency. He studied law and practised in the Madras High Court  and the Supreme Court of India  . In his young age, he was an activist of the Indian independence movement  and participated in the Quit India Movement.He was appointed member of the Constituent Assembly and the provisional cabinet. He was elected to Lok Sabha four times and served as Union Finance Minister and Defence Minister. In 1984, he was elected the seventh Vice President of India  and in 1987, he became the 8th President of India and served from 1987 to 1992.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in Asian Philately, Commemorative Stamps, First Day Cover, History Behind A Stamp, New Stamps, News, SARC Philately, Themes, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *