Australia Released Stamp on Snow skiing

\"\"Australia Post has released a stamp on snow skiing on 19th July 2011.Snow skiing had its genesis in Australia 150 years ago, at the Snowy Mountains settlement of Kiandra, New South Wales. A small group of Austrians and a Norwegian, gold miners at the settlement, were behind the activity. The club that developed was called the Kiandra Snow Shoe Club, later renamed the Kiandra Pioneer Ski Club. This is thought to be the first and longest-surviving ski club in the world, established the same year as the first club in Norway, although the claim is not universally supported.Today, skiing and snowboarding are undertaken in three Australian states: New South Wales, Victoria and Tasmania. Australia’s 14 alpine resorts are of varying size and sophistication, the most popular being Perisher, Thredbo, Mt Buller, Hotham and Falls Creek.Victoria is home to a total of eight resorts, some of which offer only cross-county skiing; New South Wales is home to four; and Tasmania to two.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in History Behind A Stamp, New Stamps, News, World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *