Norway:Stamps on South Pole Centenary

\"\"On 14 December 1911, five men stood at the southern axis of the earth. They planted the Norwegian flag and named the area KongHaakon VIIs vidde.

Those men were Roald Amundsen, Olav Bjaaland, Oscar Wisting, Helmer Hansen and Sverre Hassel, the first men to reach the South Pole.Norway released 2 stamps to commemorate the event on 15th April 2011.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in History Behind A Stamp, New Stamps, News, Themes, World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *