Royal Society:Split-Stamps On Top Ten Illustrious Figures

The year 2010 is marked with \”The Royal Mail\” launched an innovative split-stamp design in its latest commemorative stamp collection which celebrates the 350th anniversary of the Royal Society – the world\’s oldest continuous science academy.

\"\"Ten 1st Class stamps have been issued which feature significant figures from the Royal Society – Sir Isaac Newton, Benjamin Franklin, Robert Boyle, Sir Nicholas Shackleton, Edward Jenner, Charles Babbage, Alfred Russel Wallace, Sir Joseph Lister, Ernest Rutherford and lastly the only woman to be included, Dorothy Hodgkin.

The ten illustrious figures were selected from more than 1,400 Fellows and Foreign members and over 60 Nobel Laureates.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
This entry was posted in Articles, Education, News, Philately, Stamps, Themes, World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *